Tim Russert Summer Groove 2017 Featuring The Connection

It’s always such a pleasure to be part of the Tim Russert Summer Groove in support of The Boys & Girls Club of Nantucket. This past year was no different. Check out some great moments captured by the amazing photographers at Runaway Bride Nantucket in the gallery below as well as an awesome video from Yellow Productions!

Featuring The Connection & David M. Handy Events

The event has evolved since its conception, sixteen years ago. In 2002, the then Nantucket Boys & Girls Club Chair, Frenchie Doucette and then Trustee, Marty Teixeira created the first “Summer Groove” event, which consisted of a buffet dinner and concert by The Pointer Sisters. The event took place downtown at the former Gray Lady Marine (now the Great Harbor Yacht Club). A highlight of the event was the Master of Ceremonies, Tim Russert. This signaled the beginning of Tim’s relationship with the Club, as he joined the Board of Trustees in 2003 and continued as the Master of Ceremonies of the event each year, until his passing in 2008.

Growing up as a member of the Boys & Girls Club of Buffalo, New York, Tim had a passion for Boys & Girls Clubs. He was also passionate about Nantucket and the island’s youth. He believed in giving back to the community, and did so with great pleasure. Tim was an active part of the Summer Groove event committee each year and was instrumental in its success as a fundraiser. As Master of Ceremonies, he always donned a Nantucket Boys & Girls Club t-shirt. He encouraged guests to be festive, and most importantly, generous to the Club.

In 2009, the event was renamed to honor Tim, and the Tim Russert Spirit of Hope Award was established to continue his legacy. The award is presented to individuals who are ardent supporters of not only the Nantucket Boys & Girls Club, but are also philanthropic within the broader Nantucket community. The award is intended to emanate Tim’s enthusiasm and genuine desire to care and give hope to Nantucket’s youth.  Past recipients include Lucile W. Hays, Maureen Hackett, Chuck Geschke, Robin and EJ Harvey, Richard Glidden, Zona V. Tanner-Butler, and Thomas Bresette. We are thrilled to present the 2017 Tim Russert Spirit of Hope Award to John Loose. (https://nantucketboysandgirlsclub.org/)